# CULVER COMMUNITY SCHOOLS CORPORATION, CULVER, INDIANA SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES January 11, 2010

#### **APPROVED 1/25/10**

The Culver Community Schools Corporation Board of Trustees met in regular session, Monday, January 11, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. at the Administration Office, 700 School Street, Culver, Indiana, with the following officers and members present:

Marilyn I. Swanson, President Jack L. Jones, Vice-President Eugene R. Baker, Secretary Ned Davis, Member Ed Behnke, Member (absent) Christopher R. Kline, Member James M. Wentzel, Member

President, Marilyn Swanson, opened the meeting.

Marilyn Swanson, President and Peggy Dawson, notary public, administered the oath of office to elected Board member Jim Wentzel.

Chris Kline moved to appoint Jack Jones as President, Eugene Baker as Vice-President, and James Wentzel as Secretary, seconded by Ned Davis, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Jack Jones, President, presided over the remainder of the meeting.

Ned Davis moved to appoint Tom Bendy as corporation treasurer with the bond set at \$50,000, seconded by Jim Wentzel, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Marilyn Swanson moved to appoint Peggy Dawson as corporation deputy treasurer, seconded by Ned Davis, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Chris Kline moved to appoint Harold "Sonny" Wyland and the Wyland, Humphrey, Wagner & Clevenger law offices as corporation legal counsel per contract with hourly rate of \$150.00, seconded by Jim Wentzel, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Marilyn Swanson moved to continue to hold regular school board meetings at the Administration Office on the second and fourth Mondays, September through May and one regular meeting on the second Monday during June, July, and August at 7:00 p.m., seconded by Ned Davis, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

There was no audience participation.

Gene Baker moved to approve the consent items as follows, seconded by Jim Wentzel, and

1 of 4 3/2/10 6:18 PM

passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

# Approval of Agenda

Approval of Minutes of December 14, 2009 Regular and Executive Sessions

Approval of Claims: Claim Numbers 1535 through 1556 and 1 through 57.

Field Trips and Leave Requests -

#### **FIELD TRIPS:**

- 1. CCHS 12<sup>th</sup> Grade Students to Argos High School, January 28
- 2. CCMS/CES Band Students to Valparaiso High School, February 6
- 3. MES 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> Grade Students to Coveleski Stadium, South Bend, May 12

## **LEAVE REQUESTS:**

- 1. Carol Jackson to Mock Caldecott, Mishawaka, January 18
- 2. Pam Craft and Stephanie Smith to Math Textbook Adoption Caravan, Plymouth, February 2
- 3. Theresa Hammond to HASTI Conference, February 3-5

## Resignations and Hirings -

Retirement: Vickie Dearth, French Teacher

Donald Bush, Custodian

<u>Hirings</u>: Stephanie Smith, Basketball Girls' Elementary Coach

#### Adoption of Annual Resolutions –

2009-11 Year-End Transfer of Funds to Balance Accounts

2009-10 Transfer of Funds to Rainy Day Fund

This resolution transferred an additional \$190,000 to the Rainy Day

Fund

Marilyn Swanson moved to appoint Brad Schuldt as Title IX Coordinator, seconded by Ned Davis, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Chris Kline moved to appoint Vickie Conley as Extra-Curricular Activities Treasurer at Monterey Elementary School with a bond of \$10,000, Karen Snyder as Extra-Curricular Activities Treasurer at Culver Elementary School with a bond of \$20,000, Joyce Hanselman as Extra-Curricular Activities Treasurer at Culver Community Middle School with a bond of \$20,000, and Jamye Baker as Extra-Curricular Activities Treasurer at Culver Community High School with a bond of \$50,000, seconded by Jim Wentzel, and passed with five (5) ayes, no (0) nays and one (1) abstention, Gene Baker.

Chris Kline moved to appoint Jack Jones, Marilyn Swanson, Jim Wentzel, Albert Hanselman, Kelly PUlliam, Chuck Kitchell, Julie Berndt, and Brad Schuldt as the Discussion Team to meet with the Teachers Association in 2010, seconded Gene Baker, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Jim Wentzel moved to appoint Ned Davis, Chris Kline, and Gene Baker, Albert Hanselman, Kelly Pulliam, Chuck Kitchell, Julie Berndt, Tom Bendy, and Brad Schuldt to the Negotiations Team to meet with the Teachers Association in 2010, seconded by Marilyn Swanson, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Chris Kline moved to appoint Gene Baker as ISBA Legislative Liaison, seconded by Ned Davis, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Uniform Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statements for 2010 for Ned Davis, Lynn Davis, Chuck Kitchell, Julie Kitchell, Albert Hanselman, Joyce Hanselman, Jack Jones, Doris Smith, Gene Baker, Jamye Baker, and Sandy Baker were recognized.

Chris Kline moved to approve the Master Agenda for 2010, seconded by Gene Baker, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Gene Baker moved to reduce the mileage rate from 50 cents per mile to 40 cents per mile effective January 1, 2010. The motion was seconded by Marilyn Swanson and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Jim Wentzel moved to accept the bus bid from Midwest Transit at the cost of \$150,046 for the purchase of two (2) buses, seconded by Ned Davis, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Marilyn Swanson moved to table the 2010-2011 school calendar, seconded by Chris Kline, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Corporation Treasurer, Tom Bendy, and Superintendent Schuldt gave a presentation regarding the corporation's financial status and addressed some of the issues of budget cuts from the State.

Ned Davis moved to adopt the percentages of expenditures for 2010 as presented, seconded by Jim Wentzel, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays. The percentages of expenditures are as follows:

3 of 4 3/2/10 6:18 PM

Percent Academic Achievement Expenditures: 54%
Percent Instructional Support Expenditures: 5%

Percent Overhead and Operational Expenditures: 22%

Percent Non-operating Expenditures: 19%

Board members congratulated Vickie Dearth and Donald Bush for their many years of service to the corporation and thanked outgoing President, Marilyn Swanson, for her service.

Ned Davis moved to adjourn, seconded by Jim Wentzel, and passed with six (6) ayes and no (0) nays.

Date Approved	
President	
 Secretary	

4 of 4 3/2/10 6:18 PM